BYOD4L – connecting

OK, so I’m new to this, having only written one blog in the past, and  that was a chosen theme close to my heart. However, I’m excited to have a go, and see if I’m on the right lines here.

I’ve chosen to write my thoughts about the teacher who finishes her video asking Can I do my job as a lecturer without all this technology?

My initial thought is of course, because you are doing it. Keeping track of innovations in teaching practice is difficult when you are already busy with the day to day teaching, and possibly involved in research as a Uni lecturer too.

However, as I have an interest in technology, albeit I don’t understand much of it, I would say that it may become an expectation in the not too distant future that technology is utilised more and more in teaching in any guise – classroom, fieldwork, clinical practice, etc. In reality, we really do have the world at our fingertips when we have a connection to the internet and a suitable device, so why not use it. The negative side of this of course, is that there is so much out there and it’s difficult to know where to start.

As a beginner the teacher would probably feel overwhelmed if she is aware of the amount of technology that’s available and the different uses for it all. If she’s not aware of this, then that first toe in the pool will open the possibilities up to her which could overwhelm her even more. This can be off-putting, especially when time is such a concern (she mentioned Time several times – pardon the pun). Where on earth do you start? What is best? What should be avoided? Are different things better for one thing than another? Oh dear – it makes my head ache!

The age of the students may impact on the need to move forward with the digital age too. In the past, supporting predominantly nursing students, I have supported more mature learners in my previous role in a Russell Group Uni. Many of these students didn’t even know how to switch a computer on when they started their studies, and the notion of having virtual learning environments is  totally confusing to many, meaning that it becomes a barrier to learners rather than enabling participation. Having said that, I have very recently supported a 24 year old student who wouldn’t have even contemplated having an email address had he not needed one for his Uni course. So, you can never make assumptions – not correct ones anyway 🙂

Another factor is the huge fees that students pay for Uni education now. I feel that this will be the crux of why there will be an expectation from the bulk of the student population that all things are considered, from the teaching that they will experience.

The” youth of today” are growing up in a world where technology is all around them and a real part of their world, so eventually teaching will have to move on. But I don’t think that means that today’s teachers should HAVE to embrace it, at the risk of reducing their own confidence and passion in their subject.

Another final thing to consider is that being able to allow the student to be the teacher is very empowering, and maybe this is the platform for them to take the lead. I certainly learn new things everyday with my students – we learn together, and each take forward something that we can use in our future. We can’t all know everything, and teachers (as implied by the name) need to maybe let go of the thought that we have to be better than our students in all ways! We can’t … and that’s not a bad lesson to teach either!

 

2 thoughts on “BYOD4L – connecting

  1. Hi Michelle,

    You make some really interesting observations here and I can clearly see how BYOD4L is making you think. Pleased also that the scenario has been a useful trigger for this.

    You mention the following:
    “But I don’t think that means that today’s teachers should HAVE to embrace it, at the risk of reducing their own confidence and passion in their subject.”

    We often feel out of control when learning new things and our confidence will be reduced initially. I agree with you there. I am also wondering if this might be a good thing as teachers will become more aware of how their students feel perhaps when they are asked to learn new things? Learning is uncomfortable and often painful. Wondering if there is an opportunity for all of us to model that we are all learners?

    I think these thoughts link nicely with your last paragraph where teachers become co-learners?

    Excellent work so far. So pleased you joined us on this journey.

    Chrissi

    Like

  2. Great to see you blogging Michelle. I learn something new everyday, I am signposted to new resources by students and love it when they can show me something as it boosts our confidence in each other.

    Like

Leave a comment